Jen Richards

Wildlife artist

Cephalopods!

Leave a comment

Chambered nautilus sketch I did after finally seeing some in person in Monterey.

Chambered nautilus sketch I did after finally seeing some in person in Monterey.

It’s no secret that I love cephalopods. I’m particularly smitten with cuttlefish, but I find all species fascinating. How could you not? These invertebrates are mollusks – yes, like snails and clams – but their remarkable intelligence and diversity sets them apart. On one end of the scale size-wise you have the fingernail-sized pygmy squid (Idiosepius notoides) and on the other you’ve got the enormous colossal squid (Mesonychoteuthis hamiltoni). In the middle of all that you’ll find the absolutely spectacular flamboyant cuttlefish (Metasepia pfefferi), who pack a lot of flashiness into their three-inch stature; the mimic octopus (Thaumoctopus mimicus) who can imitate other sea creatures from a lionfish to a sea snake; the chambered nautilus (Nautilus pompilius) who boasts 90 tentacles… the list goes on. And on. They’re that awesome.

A lot of people have expressed their interest in a cephalopod-related design from me, which was lovely to hear because I’ve been planning on doing one for a while! I’m happy to finally share this fun little piece I created for my new shop. I’m a big fan of wanting better representation for the more unusual marine species on things like scarves and phone cases… and I’ve even put these little guys on skirts and leggings too! Hope you enjoy.

Now you can wear them! Be as cool as a flamboyant cuttlefish. Yeah, I said it.

Now you can wear them! Be as cool as a flamboyant cuttlefish. Yeah, I said it.

Author: Jen

www.jenrichardsart.com

Leave a Reply

