Jen Richards

Wildlife artist

On meeting Orca O319

1 Comment

I was excited. Can you tell?

I was excited. Can you tell?

One of the places I was determined to visit during our (utterly fantastic) trip west this month was the California Academy of Sciences in San Francisco. I’m so glad we did – it’s an incredible place and it was wonderful to see so many people engaged with a variety of science-based topics. Naturally I was drawn to the Steinhart Aquarium, but it was also a very pleasant surprise for me to see my first real orca skeleton up close. O319 was a young male offshore orca that stranded at Point Reyes National Seashore in November 2011 and, after a lengthy collection process (that you can read about in detail here), went on display at the Academy in 2013. Seeing this specimen up close was a real treat for me; being able to see his worn teeth (which are casts in the skeleton itself – the originals were made available for research) from a primary diet of sharks was fascinating. It’s also easy to see the broken rib that possibly led to his death.

Geeking out over Orca O139.

Geeking out over Orca O319.

The Academy’s Naturalist Center is unlike anything I’ve seen at any other museum. Here, visitors of all ages can actually get their hands on real and replica specimens for closer examination. What an awesome way to get people involved! My built-in “orcadar” immediately led me towards the orca skull, a life-size recreation from Bone Clones. It’s this that I used as a reference for some quick sketches, something I’d love to do more of.

As a lovely bonus, I picked up a book from one of my most admired wildlife artists, Robert Bateman, in the gift shop. Yay!

Author: Jen

www.jenrichardsart.com

One thought on “On meeting Orca O319

  1. A special meeting for you. Nice drawing.

Leave a Reply

