Jen Richards

Wildlife artist

Art Gone Wild: Day Two

1 Comment

Today’s main subjects were much larger and less feathery than yesterday’s. I’ve felt the urge to paint a rhino for ages, so I got right to it when I arrived at the zoo early this morning – and didn’t just start one, but two! Last year Zoo Atlanta celebrated its first rhino birth in its 124-year history, and little (read: big) Jabari is too precious not to feature. Black rhinos are incredibly fun to paint and I’m hoping to do another piece (featuring dad Utenzi) before the art show and silent auction on the 14th. This one is far from being finished, but I did switch to a new subject later in the afternoon as a refresher. More to come tomorrow!

I must also add that one of my favourite things about Art Gone Wild is being able to meet and chat with other artists. The variety of pieces I’ve seen being created so far (across many mediums) is astounding, and I can’t wait to see everything at the art show. Being around so many fellow artists is definitely inspiring.

Author: Jen

www.jenrichardsart.com

One thought on “Art Gone Wild: Day Two

  1. That is crazy amazing how that first shot becomes the finished product. I’m so sorry I had to miss this event. I hope it was so successful that it will be a mainstay of zoo events for years to come. Excellent work and envious of the talent, Jen. I will volunteer for it next year!

Leave a Reply

